Tuesday, April 26, 2005

AAAS Fellows

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) announced their 225th class of Fellows today. Their membership includes people that span a large spectrum of areas. Of particular interest to computer scientists is the category I.6, in which there were four Fellows announced today:
Of the four, two are theoreticians. Herbert Edelsbrunner is of course one of our own, computational (and combinatorial!) geometry demigod and part of the 1-2 geometry smackdown that Duke University delivers to the rest of the world. Zvi Galil is one of the early algorithms greats who helped develop the field of algorithms (graph algorithms, string algorithms, dynamic algorithms) into the rich area it is today.

Interestingly, Sergey Brin and Larry Page have also been named as Fellows, in the category V.II: "Business, Corporate, and Philanthropic Leadership (Nonprofit sector)".


  1. If I'm not mistaken, Chazelle was elected last year. Perhaps they are electing a comp. geometer each year?:) 

    Posted by Thomas Paine

  2. Nice Blog, I found it while looking for microsoft money


Disqus for The Geomblog